Etsy and Curating

I’m still trying to figure out what to do with my curating project online.  One thing I’m pretty sure of is that I want it to include Etsy. For those who don’t know, Etsy is a site where people can set up stores and sell items. It’s mostly geared towards people looking for handmade items, art and/or other crafty things, and old things. I just opened a store to sell some of my grandma’s stuff for her and I have become ridiculously obsessed. One thing that I thought was absolutely fantastic is a feature called Treasury Lists. You can create a list of items based on a theme, tag the list so people can find it, and publish it. You are then known as the curator of the list.

These lists are really fun to make because Etsy has such a huge array of items, in all sorts of styles to choose from. It can be really daunting to try and pick out the perfect item to go in the list because there are just so many options. Etsy features a lot of these lists on their front page too, so that kind of adds to the pressure/challenge. For my curation project, I’m thinking about incorporating the list feature on Etsy with a blog. I think it would be really neat to take a generic term like “books”, and make a Treasury List for each general category there is on Etsy. I would then try to curate each list in such a way that they would display the wide range of styles on the site.

I believe this would be an interesting way to look at how people all over the world create things that get placed under the same category, but are still very diverse. It would also provide a neat look at human creativity. I would create the lists, then post them on a blog with a little bit about why each item was chosen. I’m still not sure about all the details for this project, but I think it would be really interesting.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

