The Brooklyn Museum

Over spring break, I got a chance to visit the Brooklyn Museum in New York City. I had never been there before, and was excited to see what was in the museum. I really liked how the museum was curated overall. When you first walk in, you don’t really get a sense of how big the building is. I wandered off towards the left, where there was an exhibit on African Americans in America. The exhibit was really well but together, and was spaced out over a couple of rooms. The exhibit consisted mostly of art, and had one video portion which featured singing. Beside each piece of art was a card explaining who made the piece, and a little bit about the history surrounding it.

From that museum, I went randomly up to the 4th floor. There, I found a lot more art. When I got off the elevators, there were three huge, beautiful stained glass windows, along with an explanation of who made them, a little bit of information about stained glass. Then, there were rooms that displayed furniture from the early part of the 1900s. What I liked about this collection is that the curator did not choose furniture just from America, but chose to display furniture from places like Italy and Paris. It was really interesting to be able to compare the styles.

Another exhibit that was great was the Egyptian exhibit. It was set up so you would walk through basic things like wall hieroglyphics first. Then, you moved on to some sarcophagus and masks and big statues. At the very end was a mummy on display, and others in their respective sarcophagus. I loved this exhibit because I really had a thing for ancient Egypt when I was younger. So I walked through each room, and just kept getting more and more excited. The curator really built up anticipation the way the exhibit was laid out. I really enjoyed my trip, and thought that the curators did a great job.

Leave a Reply

